User Submitted Reviews

» Latest Reviews for the 3 Nursing Homes in Woodbury, New York

The average user rating for nursing homes in Woodbury, New York is 2.4 out of 5 stars based on 22 ratings.

5 Star
4 reviews
4 Star
1 reviews
3 Star
0 reviews
2 Star
2 reviews
1 Star
12 reviews
5 Star
6 ratings
4 Star
1 ratings
3 Star
0 ratings
2 Star
2 ratings
1 Star
13 ratings

  • Excel at Woodbury for Rehab and Nursing, LLC Woodbury, New York 11797

    I wouldnt even give it one star. This place is horrible, horrible. There is never anyone at the front desk, anyone can walk in. The alarm on the door that they have when no one is at front desk, what a joke. No one ever comes to see what is going on. The staff is rude and nasty.

  • Excel at Woodbury for Rehab and Nursing, LLC Woodbury, New York 11797

    My father had a bad fall and went to the hospital. He needed rehab before going home. This was our first experience and so happy he was placed at Excel at Woodbury. The staff was so attentive and the P.T. people were great. I would recommend for sure. My dads favorite thing was the Bakery. It was free for him and all who visited. We all gained a couple of pounds

  • Cold Springs Hills Center for Nursing and Rehab Woodbury, New York 11797

    My dad was there for 6 months and developed a stage 4 bedsore from neglect of turning him properly and a faulty air mattress. The nursing staff tries to attend to patients needs but the overall support is understaffed.The administration is far worse and the doctor mostly ignores you. My dads foot had lost blood circulation and we noticed 2 weeks ago but after mentioning it to him he said it was normal for him. After we demanded to have him taken to the hospital to be evaluated the vascular doctor said that it had been going on for 2 weeks and there was nothing he could do for it and the only option was to have the leg amputated or provide comfort for him. We did not want to put him through that and decided to make him as comfortable as possible. He passed away a few days ago and will be missed dearly. I wish I hadn't placed so much trust that the doctor was handling his foot properly and will have to live with that for the rest of my life.

  • Cold Springs Hills Center for Nursing and Rehab Woodbury, New York 11797

    My dad was there for 6 months and although the nursing staff tries their best to attend to patients needs the overall support is insufficient for most patients needs. The administration is far worse and the doctor mostly ignores you. My dads foot had lost blood circulation and we noticed 2 weeks ago but after mentioning it to him he said it was normal for him. After we demanded to have him looked at the hospital the vascular doctor said that it had been going on for 2 weeks and there was nothing he could do for it the only option was to have the leg amputated or provide comfort for him. We did not want to put him through that and decided to make him as comfortable as possible. He passed away a few days ago.

  • Cold Springs Hills Center for Nursing and Rehab Woodbury, New York 11797

    My Mom was in Norwich building 2nd floor 3 times since May 2014. Was just admitted again in May 2015. I have to say what a horrible experience it has been. It is like some of the nurses and aids do not care at all. All they do is point fingers at one another. My mom is in a wheel chair and cannot walk which is the reason she is there to get her legs stronger. It is not on common for her to have to wait over an hour after ringing the buzzer for the aid to go to the bathroom. Today in the dinning room, I left my mom for a 1/2 hour and when I came back she and other patients told me my mom asked the aid several times to take her to the bathroom (lunch was done being served). The aid just ignored her pleas. I asked the aid and the aid ignored me. I wound up taking her to the bathroom 10 feet away from where the aid was sitting. I asked the two nurses on duty behind the desk for assistance but was also ignored. Are you kidding me? This is neglect!!! I am going to have to hire a private aid until I can get her out of there. I also asked the aid and the nurse for the aids name but no one would give it to me and it was not on her name tag. So I took a picture. What a Nightmare!!! It was great in May 2014. I don't know what happened in the last year but the place is going down hill fast! Please, if your love one can't walk on their own to at least go to the bathroom, do not bring them to Cold Spring Hills as they do not have enough staffing to provide the services they should be providing.

  • Cold Springs Hills Center for Nursing and Rehab Woodbury, New York 11797

    My Mom was at Cold Spring Hills last year for a week on the first floor in the Norwich building and we had no problems at all. NOT THE CASE THE SECOND TIME AROUND! Mom was recently here again for another week on the second floor in the Norwich building. We would have never sent her here if we knew the week from hell she was going to have. It wasn't easy trying to get someone to help Mom when she had to go to the bathroom. Many times, it was too late. But the absolute worst is when they gave Mom a shower. They poured a bucket of water over her head. The water was either hot or cold and Mom was scrubbed soooo hard with soap all over her body, she kept passing out. Mom's pleas to stop were ignored. She would open her eyes again and pass out again. This kept happening. My family arranged for a senior helper to be with Mom until we could get her out of there. Mom was definitely afraid of the aide who gave her the shower. This woman was soo rough with her - yanking her out of bed, yanking her clothes on, yanking her nebulizer mask off. We come to find out from someone else our family knows that their father was also in this facility and he too was scrubbed sooo hard in the shower that he too passed out!!!

  • Cold Springs Hills Center for Nursing and Rehab Woodbury, New York 11797

    I was in the Cold Soring/Syosett Rehab and I can't believe that this facility is allowed to be opened. It is the most uncaring, filthy place I have ever seen. I went there for physical therapy, but that too was a farce. Nurses never answer the call buttons and in order for me to get anyone into my room, I would call their outside number, if I was lucky, they would answer and I would ask for the nurses station on the 2nd floor, whereby, they would hang up or let it keep ringing. Never,ever put a loved one who cannot speak for themselves in this place. There is definitely not enough help and the nurses argue with the aids. The food is just disgusting and the utensils are filthy. I made sure to get plastic untensils. My daughter brought me in edible food to eat. I can go on and on but why is this place still allowed to be kept opened. It is not fit for a dog, let alone a human being. Close it down!

  • Cold Springs Hills Center for Nursing and Rehab Woodbury, New York 11797

    This place is like sticking your self or loved one in a dark hole. Scary. When the lights go out at night I heard people crying and it was odd that there is no staff there to answer. Run don walk from this one. Run very poorly. Do not go by the way it looks.

  • Excel at Woodbury for Rehab and Nursing, LLC Woodbury, New York 11797

    Don't let the dated decor fool you! From the front desk to cleaning crews, the staff here proved the best medical and TLC care during all hours of the day. My grandfather was there in the rehab wing for over 4 years. From a stroke, the dedicated physical therapy team had him walking again in his 90's. We had many family celebrations with him in the library and his great granddaughters were welcome to play in the courtyard during visits. We had unfortunately experienced other facilities before finding Woodbury. I would give the staff here top recommendations!

  • Cold Springs Hills Center for Nursing and Rehab Woodbury, New York 11797

    i must say this has been a great experience the staff has made me feel comfortable from the time they came to see me in the hospital till the time i left. i was concerned that i would not be able to get back to work after i had a knee replacement but everyone the housekeeper on the unit to the therapy staff pushed me to work hard and thank you to them as its now 8 weeks after my surgery and i feel great.

  • Cold Springs Hills Center for Nursing and Rehab Woodbury, New York 11797

    My brother had a sever stroke and went to Cold Spring Hills for Rehabilitation. The case manager called me on a Tuesday at 4:30pm and told me, while I was at work that my brother's insurance would no longer pay and I either had to pay $600.00 a day or take him home that day. My brother can not walk or move his left side and there was no discharge plan in place for him to come home. Some one drop the ball and they want me to pay for it.

  • Cold Springs Hills Center for Nursing and Rehab Woodbury, New York 11797

    I must start by saying that not every building in Cold Springs Hills is bad. I am personally very disgusted with the Sea Cliff building second floor. From the day my father was admitted, it was nothing but chaos. Upon arrival, it was very hard to find a nurse or any staff member at that to help escort him in. My brother and I had to take a wheelchair that was not being used, sit him in and wheeled him to the proper building/room. When we finally navigated through the building with the assistance of a family member of a patient (not staff), we entered the Sea Cliff building and pursued towards the second floor. When we reached the second floor and approached the nursing station, only one nurse was there. The other nurses seemed to be on break (which seemed to last about two hours). The nurse that was at the station stated that she was the head nurse however she seemed very confused and took a long time before she gave us any assistance. My family and I waited patiently while we watched the other staff members walk around with no sense of urgency, even when family members had questions and requests. During the time that we waited, I overheard a maintenance worker inform one of the nurses that a patient in one of the rooms needed assistance. They all looked at one another and one nurse even said "she always wants someone to come to the room". None of the nurses went to check on the lady. This same day, in another room, an elderly woman died and the family members requested that the nurses wrap up her body so that they can go home. (They did not want to leave their deceased member alone). The nurses had a big debate of what they were going to do and replied to the family members by saying the funeral home will be here soon. They did not make any attempts to get an estimated time from the funeral home to atleast comfort the family. Now when they finally get my father's paperwork together they escort us to an extremely small room. The beds were facing one another and another patient was laying there on an oxygen machine. They got my father undressed and placed him in the small twin sized bed. This room was completely unacceptable because both patients were in critical condition and needed big machines to help transport them in and out of bed. The bed that was assigned to my father did not have a curtain to give him privacy. When something needed to be done with him, the nurses had to ask us and the other patient's family members to leave the room. Moving on to the next day, a CNA came into the room and walked towards my father with calling him the wrong name. My aunt immediately jumped up and corrected her. The CNA's response was "I wasn't going to give him anything, thats why they have name tags" My aunt became angry and told her that she just wanted to make sure that he wasnt going to be given the wrong supplements. The CNA appeared to be offended and started to slam the drawers on her food cart. She then left the room with an attitude. Now what I have mentioned above is the least of my complaints. My biggest complaint and the most important complaint of all is the fact that my father fell out of his wheel chair and bruised his head while in Sea Cliff's care. My father had a massive stroke which caused a massive bleed in his brain. The incident happened around 9am and I did not receive a call until 11:30am and when I did receive the call the nurse just told me that he was okay. They did not have a doctor called to examine him. After several attempts to no avail of calling the nurses station back, when I finally reached a nurse, I demanded that my father be taken to the Emergency Room since no one felt the urgency to examine a man who has had a massive stroke and just had a head injury. By the Grace of God, my father turned out to be okay. I would not recommend Cold Springs Hill's Sea Cliff building to anyone. It is all a Fa├žade. Do not leave your loved one there, they will not receive the proper care. Further actions will be taken!

  • Excel at Woodbury for Rehab and Nursing, LLC Woodbury, New York 11797

    my mother was a resident at this facility and i could not have been happier. the nurses and cna's were kind,compassionate and caring. all the staff in each department made us feel important and they always answered any questions that we had. what i found so lovely was that they used only their staff and the longevity of their employees was remarkable. despite the two previous reviews, even though the building needs to be updated it was clean and i was treated like family. they consistently have high ratings and for my mothers care that was the deciding factor and i was never sorry for my decision. the director of nursing was always available to be reached even as she told me , ask the supervisor to call me if im not here no matter what day or time. an excellent facility

  • Cold Springs Hills Center for Nursing and Rehab Woodbury, New York 11797

    Disgusted! My mom was admitted on 5/19/11 in the afternoon. On Sat., 5/21/11, I signed her out! Many reasons in just a short time: inattentiveness of some of the staff members, the wing where her room was located stunk of feces, many of the staff that I had encountered, were rude and with bad attitudes, had to make numerous requests for a wheelchair so that my mom could eat in the dining room with other patients…requests never honored…was told "we don't have any right now". What the heck kind of crap is that??? Head nurse on duty on Saturday night 5/20/11, is awful! I approached the nurses station to question about the problem my mom was having with her ear. Her exact responses was: "I have work to do, I want to go home, ask the other nurse"…and with a very sarcastic attitude. Again, what kind of crap is this??? Just overall, a disaster in my honest opinion. As my mom was in for short-term physical therapy only, I said NO WAY…out she comes. I couldn't wait to sign her out! Quite honestly, I wouldn't have even given this facility 1 star rating, but it was required in order to submit this review. I should also add, that I was lied to about the status of her physical therapy treatment. I was 1st told that it would start Friday afternoon (it didn't). Then I was told that it would start on Monday the 23rd. When I checked with one of the nurses, she told me that an assessment wasn't even in her chart, nor was there an order for the physical therapy! I'm so glad that Mom is now home.